Latest news

The wait is finally over and we’re thrilled to announce the winner of the 2023 Mark & Evette Moran Nib Literary Award!

Congratulations to Alison Bashford, author of An Intimate History of Evolution, which tonight won the major prize of $40,000.

This year’s People’s Choice Prize ($4,000) winner was Fiona McMillan-Webster, who received the highest number of votes from booklovers around the country for her work, The Age of Seeds.

This year’s judging panel included poet Jamie Grant, writer Katerina Cosgrove, and publisher Julia Carlomagno, who were given the difficult task of choosing a winner from a very high calibre group of authors.

Congratulations to all of the authors shortlisted for this year’s award. Each has won the Alex Buzo Shortlist Prize ($1,500):

  • Anam by André Dao
  • Emperors in Lilliput by Jim Davidson
  • Life So Full of Promise by Ross McMullin
  • Shirley Hazzard: A Writing Life by Brigitta Olubas

About the award

The Mark & Evette Moran Nib Literary Award is presented annually by Waverley Council with support from principal sponsors, Mark and Evette Moran, and community partner Gertrude & Alice Bookstore and Cafe.