Presented for excellence in research in the creation of a literary work of merit.

The Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award is Waverley Council’s annual celebration of the best in Australian research and writing. Established in 2002 as The Nib Waverley Library Award for Literature, this prestigious prize has so far distributed around $350,000 directly to deserving Australian authors.

Entries are open to all Australian writers regardless of their experience, chosen subject matter or genre. Submitted works are judged against the specific award criteria of excellence in research, high level of literary merit, readability and value to the community. Winners are decided by an independent panel of three judges each of whom bring a wealth of experience from across the literary world.

Nominations close Monday 2 July, 2018

Above image: 2017 Nib Award shortlisted authors at the Nib presentation breakfast. (L-R) David Dufty, Ashleigh Wilson, Neil McDonald, Kate Cole-Adams, Bruce Munday, Madeleine O'Dea, Sebastian Smee.

Residential status Required
Payment options Required
I have read and accept the Award guidelines for The Mark & Evette Moran Nib Literary Award and hereby nominate this work for the judges' consideration Required
Subscribe me to the monthly Nib News enewsletter for the latest information on the Nib Award including competition updates. Required
I understand that my nomination is not valid until the organisers have received a fully completed nomination form; including an extract or publishers blurb, entry fee and five copies of the nominated work (or three printed copies in the case of electroni Required
Is more than one author responsible for this work? Required
Residential status Required
I am: Required
How did you become aware of this award? Required
I am: Required
Terms and conditions
Joint author details (if applicable)
Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award 2018 online nomination form
Submission details
Author's Details
Details of Nominator (if applicable)
Supporting documents

The survey form is now closed. Thanks for your contributions.